Fruit Roll Ups (Clean Eating, Low Fodmap, Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Vegan)

I came across this fun recipe today http://www.againstallgrain.com/2012/06/26/homemade-fruit-by-the-foot/ which is pretty much an uncle tobys fruit roll up…you know the ones…real fruit flat out!  I have bought these for the kids in years, too much sugar and extra bits in there and they stick to the kids teeth. This recipe was so much healthier, less sugar, no crappy preservatives etc.  Ok so they still are kinda sticky for the teeth but not as bad as the processed ones. I know how much my kids to like the roll ups but I just refused to buy them.  This recipe though had me intruiged and I thought I’d surprise the kids after school with these.

They werent that hard to make really and I used fresh strawberries and frozen blueberries and I think in future I will follow this recipe without the baking/dehydrating stage and just use it as a jam.  Talk about yummy.   The recipe originally was done in a food dehydrater and I dont have one so had to try to work out the oven and how long to do it for.  Heres how I went……

Fruit Roll Ups

2 cups strawberries, fresh (or 4 cups mixed berries)

2 cups blueberries, frozen (cheaper when not in season)

1/2 cup water

2 tsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp lemon zest

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 Tbsp rice malt syrup

Preheat oven to 140-150 degrees (fanforced) Line 2 11 x 7 inch baking trays (with higher edges) with baking paper making sure they go over the sides to hold the liquid.  In a saucepan over medium heat combine all ingredients and let simmer for 20 minutes until the berries start to soften and go a little mushy and sauce is looking a little thicker.   Pour the mixture into a food processor and blend until smooth.   Strain half the berry mixture over one of the trays and the other half over the other tray.  Carefully spread out evenly over the tray.  (Should be about 1/4 cm or so thick.   Place in the oven for about 40 minutes until its not a sticky mixture.  Take out and allow to cool 15 minutes, leave the oven on though.  Using a pizza cutter cut into strips or desired width.  Carefully lift off the paper, you will find it might be a little sticky underneath.  Place on a wire rack and replace baking paper on the tray.  Place the fruit strips back onto the tray making sure they are facing the other way and put back into the oven for a further 20 minutes.  Just watch the edges as they may go crispy, if thats the case the other site recommends spraying with a little water.  I actually liked the crispy bits lol.

I took these to school when picking up the kids as I always bring them a snack for in the car while waiting for my eldest to finish (he finishes later than the other kids)  and they were a huge hit!  They will last a week in an airtight container.

Leave a Reply

