Cheeseburger Pie

Doesn’t that look yummy!

This recipe name immediately caught my eye,  its been well over 18months since i last had a take away cheeseburger,  I just make them myself now from time to time.  I thought this sounded like something the kids would eat so tonight we had it for dinner.  And what a massive success this meal was!  Even my fussy boys scoffed it down!  Guess what they want for dinner tomorrow night lol.  I made the crust myself, its so quick and easy to do!  A really yummy lunch or dinner served with salad….perfect!

Clean Eating Pie Crust

2 1/2 cups wholemeal plain flour

1 tsp salt

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/2 cup olive oil or rice bran oil

3/4 cup milk

Combine all ingredients until a dough is formed, lightly flour a piece of baking paper and place dough on top and place another sheet of baking paper on top and roll out thin.  Lay over a pie dish and trim edges.  The left overs can be frozen and saved for later. 

(recipe from: www.thegraciouspantry.com)

Filling ingredients

500 grams lean turkey mince

2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1/2cup of  onion, finely chopped

1 cup of low fat cottage cheese

1 egg

2 tsp Italian herbs

1 cup low fat cheese

salt and pepper for taste

tomatoes to garnish the top before baking.

Pre heat oven to 200 degrees C.  Lightly brown turkey with onion and garlic, place in the prepared pie crust.  In a bowl mix cottage cheese, egg, herbs and a pinch of salt and pepper to taste and spread over turkey mixture.   Sprinkle with cheese and layer thinly sliced tomato on the top.  Bake in oven for 30-35 mintues until nice and golden on top.   Serves 8 

Calories: 170,  fat: 5 g,  Carbs 11g, protein 21g

*When I made this i had salsa that needed to be used up so added this (1/4 cup) to the turkey,  while it gave awesome flavour it left the bottom of the pie crust soggy when i cut it, but was better after being in the fridge i found.  You will see in the photos what I mean.  I did really love the salsa in the dish though but maybe might add a couple of tablespoons of taco seasons (although not exactly clean) but you can add in other seasoning if you prefer but see how you go.   

Here it is before it went in the oven, quite nice looking i thought 🙂

and after….impressive!

 update*  I made this again the following day (kids request) I didnt add salsa and found that it was a little watery still so it must be just the meat.  I left off the cherry tomato’s too, again kids request.  But served it with a salad, not that my kids are big on salad but I’m working on it lol.  I also was out of turkey mince so used chicken and it still tasted awesome. 

One response

Leave a Reply

