Tuna, Lemongrass & Basil Risotto Patties (Gluten Free – FODMAP Friendly – Clean Eating)

I was excited to try out some recipes in my new low FODMAP diet book  (Food Intolerance management plan information here http://www.foodintolerancemanagementplan.com/)  but which one to do first?   I am childfree this weekend so I thought what a great time to get some cooking done.  Now my choice might seem really strange as its a Tuna dish, its strange as I hate tuna, always have.  But the photo of the patties looked really yummy and well my tastes have changed so much over since I started my weight loss/healthy eating and there are so many vegetables that I now love that I thought I didnt like.  I was out of a couple of ingredients so instead of jumping in the car heading to the store I walked the 4km round trip 🙂

I got home and whipped these up for lunch and to my amazement I LOVED them!  Not an overly powerful fishy taste (which is what puts me off) with all the other ingredients it really was yummy.  Ive frozen the rest of the patties to use for my meals in the week.  I will make another batch for the kids later in the week and hope they love them too.  (My kids arent really into seafood, like me).  These are a great lunch, dinner or one for a snack.   I served mine on baby spinach leaves with feta and grilled zuchini and cherry tomatoes.  Also suitable as an eat clean recipe

I recommend using massel brand stock (salt reduced) – in carton – as this has no onion powder in it. Or you can get that brand in stock cubes too as that doesnt have onion either.

Tuna, Lemongrass and Basil Risotto Patties

Serves 4 (2 patties each)

3 cups of onion free chicken stock (gluten free)

3/4 cup arborio rice

130 g tin tuna in springwater (recipe calls for 110g but the tin I got was 130g so I used the whole tin)

2 Tbl finely chopped lemongrass

2 Tbl chopped basil

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 1/2 cups gluten free breadcrumbs (I made my own using GF bread and putting it in the blender)

sea salt and pepper to taste

The outer coating of the patties:

1/2  cup maize cornflour

1 egg lightly beaten

rice bran oil or olive oil spray for pan frying

Pour stock into large saucepan and bring to the boil, add the rice and cook for 10-12 minutes or until tender. Drain excess liquid.  While still warm stir in the tuna, lemongrass and basil and mix well.  Transfer to a medium bowl and allow to cool to room temperature.  Stir in beaten egg amd 1/3 cup of the breadcrumbs into the cooled rice and add salt and pepper to taste.

Place cornflour, extra egg and breadcrumbs in 3 seperate bowls for dipping.   Divide mixture into 8 and roll each one into balls. Toss patties in cornflour then egg followed by breadcrumbs and set aside.  Repeat with remaining patties and add to oiled fypan.  Cook over a medium high heat for 2-3 minutes until browned on both sides.  Serve with Salad.

This is based on 2 patties per serving (makes 8 patties) this is an estimate only.

Amount Per Serving
  Calories 283.0
  Total Fat 2.0 g
  Saturated Fat 1.1 g
  Polyunsaturated Fat 0.8 g
  Monounsaturated Fat 1.5 g
  Cholesterol 59.7 mg
  Sodium 847.3 mg
  Potassium 424.7 mg
  Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
  Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
  Sugars 0.7 g
  Protein 11.4 g
  Vitamin A 1.9 %
  Vitamin B-12 24.5 %
  Vitamin B-6 9.4 %
  Vitamin C 0.0 %
  Vitamin D 2.5 %
  Vitamin E 1.1 %
  Calcium 2.1 %
  Copper 10.9 %
  Folate 8.8 %
  Iron 10.9 %
  Magnesium 4.3 %
  Manganese 25.6 %
  Niacin 45.8 %
Pantothenic Acid 2.9 %
  Phosphorus    20.4 %
  Riboflavin 9.3 %
  Selenium 47.2 %
  Thiamin 5.3 %
  Zinc 6.1
Leave a Reply

