Tuna Mornay Pies with Cheesy Crust (Low Fodmap, Gluten Free, Lactose Free)

Who would have thought me….eating a tuna mornay…..well eating tuna full stop!  After really enjoying the low fodmap tuna and risotta patties from the low fodmap food intolerance management plan I thought maybe, just maybe I was ready to try a tuna mornay, 2 words as a child that would make me cringe!   Mum used to make these when I was younger and I always managed to get out of eating it as tuna was horrid, couldnt stand the smell and I am not much of a seafood eater anyway.  So I finally decided that I’d give it ago and wow, how yummy was it.  I loved it!  I’ve been missing out all these years!!   And my 3yr old was thoroughly enjoying it too.  The others said it was ok but they didnt seem to rave about it like Sabrinah and I.  It freezes ok too so I made individual ones as I know for me, larger portion sizes isnt possible, even normal portion sizes arent possible for me without triggering off IBS symptoms so I have to have tiny meals every 2-3 hours.   I never thought that my lunch would consist of half a sandwich and the other half I can have a couple of hours later.  Quite rediculous when you think about it.  I even think these tuna mornay sizes for me were borderline too large.  Normally you would get 4 servings from this, thats if you arent an IBS sufferer anyway but for those on smaller portion sizes make 5-6.  I made 5 but really I should have made 6.  You will know what portion sizes you can tollerate anyway.   But these were most enjoyable and even better by dusk candlelight (the candle is pink buttercream scent) sooo good.   Next time I will make a chicken version as my kids arent really seafood eaters either I think they would love this made with chicken. Lactose free option use a vegan (non dairy Parmesan cheese) and leave out feta (unless, like my daughter who is lactose intolerant you can tolerate cheeses in small doses). Use gluten free flour for a gluten free option,

Tuna Mornay Pies with Cheesy Crust

Serves 4-6

65 grams butter (or dairy free spread)

1/4 cup plain flour or gluten free plain flour

2 cups almond milk (or any lactose free milk)

425 g can of tuna in sprinwater, drained and flaked

2 Tbsp lemon juice

1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped

1 cup gluten free fresh breadcrumbs (although the dried packet breadcrumbs are ok too)

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese (or dairy free lactose free cheese now available in supermarkets)

2-3 Tbsp crumbed feta cheese (optional for those who can tolerate it)

1 tsp fresh lemon thyme leaves, finely chopped (optional)

Melt butter in a saucepan over  a medium heat, pour 1/3rd of the butter in a heat proof jug and sit aside.   Add flour to the saucepan and stir mixing into the butter.  Stir in the milk a little at a time stiring constantly to avoid lumps,  as the mixture becomes more runnier then add the remaining milk.   Bring to the boil stirring for about 5 minutes until mixture starts to thickens.  Stir in the tuna, lemon juice and half the parsley.  Cook a further 2 minutes stirringuntil heated through.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Spoon into small ramekin dishes or small oven proof dishes (1.5 cup capacity if making 4).

Turn on the grill to high.   Combine breadcrumbs, cheese and thyme and the rest of the parsley in a bowl.  Spinkle over tuna mixture.  Drizzle over remaining butter, remelt if needed.  Grill for 4-5 minutes until golden on the top and serves.

2 responses

  1. Paremsan & Feta are cheeses? This isn’t lactose free.

    This would make me sick, you can’t just call stuff lactose free when it isn’t, mate.

    Ahh, I miss cheese.

    • Thanks for drawing this to my attention but My daughter is lactose intolerant, has been diagnosed with a breath test, you can buy vegan ‘Parmesan cheese’ that is dairy free and if you read ingredients it says feta is optional. My daughter can tolerate small doses of cheese as is low lactose. Basically those trying these recipes are able to asses their own intolerances. I often presume people would know their intolerances and understand what they would need to swap in a recipe. And I do mention it in my posts things to swap but have neglected to mention it to people in this one. I am only human. I have received lots of personal attacks via comments that I have not made public so will leave this up a little and delete soon and fix the issues just so people understand their options available.

Leave a Reply

