My Shepherd Works Dietitian Appointment

Yesterday afternoon I had a phone appointment with Shepherd Works dietitian Kate Lambe. I was really looking forward to this appointment as I didn’t get much help from the gastroenterologist about low fodmap diet just to go to their website,everything else I learnt was from many hours googling. But I think did well using google as my friend as I really did learn a lot. Although the past week my symptoms hadslightly flared up and was trying to pin point why Kate seems to think as I feel lost when it comes to snacking some days, too nervous to eat fruit for rear of symptoms flaring, that I have been snacking on too many mixed nuts! I discovered that I really do love cashews and brazil nuts so bought lots from charlesworth nuts and would snack on them throughout the day so now I have to cut back on them.

I also was told to have an attempt to bring in lactose to my low fodmap diet and see how that affects me. Just a cup of milk which I have just had with a little decaf coffee thismorning about an hour and a half ago and so far so good. I will keep you updated.

As far as snacks go now I am to try to eat a little more fruit but 1 serve at a time 2-3 hours apart. I love bananas but find it has to be a tiny size banana or I have half of a banana but I enjoy strawberries and blueberries too, it’s a shame they are so darn expensive. $7.99 for a punnet of blueberries is ridiculous so might not be getting them often.  I think I might find a nice GF cracker recipe and use that as a snack with a little dairy free spread or butter and the veggie spread.  Might look into that thisarvo and give it ago.

Also stress and anxiety has been playing a part in the symptoms too. Being a single mum of  5 kids and they day to day life and finances that goes with it.   Losing so much weight and fear of gaining it and freaking out over the slightest weight gain although I am managing better with this as IBS and the low fodmap diet has taken my mind off it a little but still always in the back of my mind, I think my weight will be something on my mind always and forever sadly.  Issues with our car fighting  the insurance company over the past 8 months to fix my car, so I have been driving a car that doesn’t fit all my kids relying on my 11yr old daughters friend to pick her up and take just her too school and drop her back home again after school, I can’t thank them enough for their generosity.  Not doing much family outings as we all didn’t fit in the car but I am excited today as I finally get my big 8 seater car back today,   so this weekend I am taking my kids and my 11yr old daughters friend to see Ice Age 4 in 3D and there is a reason why I dont take my kids to the movies very often over $130!!  I think I will be sneaking my own snacks in lol

Anyway thats a bit of a catch up from yesterday’s appointment.  My kids one by one are waking up so time to get them their breakfast and get ready to get our car, we are so excited!

Leave a Reply

