Low Fodmap Tortillas (Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

After a fun morning with my kids at the movies, we saw Ice Age 4 in 3D and invited Tayla’s best friend (so thas 6 kids I took….and survived lol) it was back home again for an afternoon of baking. I made some weetbix slice for the kids and some m&m cookies for when they are at their Dads, am happy to share any recipes that may not be clean, low fodmap or totally healthy just let me know,  I have so many yummy cupcake recipes and images I’d love to share lol  I’m known for my cupcakes!!  I might need to add a new category on the side bar for the special sweet treat option!

For me, I was on my mission again looking for snack ideas and one thing I have wanted to try is gluten free tortillas, ofcourse there are so many recipes out there its hard to know what to try.  Here’s one I tried today and the taste is awesome, even on their own.  I made mine into mini sizes as my portion sizes must be small, but the bigger they are the easier they are to wrap. These also would be an awesome pizza base too!

Low Fodmap Tortillas

Makes approx 8 large  (or 20 mini ones)

2 cups brown rice flour (or you can use gluten free plain flour, I prefer not to use white flours to keep my diet as clean as possible.  You can mix up your own version of GF flour too)

1.5 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp salt

2 tsp raw sugar

1 cup warm water

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and add water, mixing well.   Divide mixture into 8 balls and roll each one out (I just grabbed a tablespoon full or so).  Roll between 2 pieces of baking paper and roll as thinly possible.  I preferred to roll out larger amount and used a very large mug/teacup that I have to make neat circles and then made some by just rolling out smaller balls, you get messy looking edges thats all, depends how pretty you want them lol.   Heat a fry pan on high and add a little rice bran oil or olive oil.  Carefully add your tortillas to the hot pan and cook for a few minutes until it starts to colour and puff a little.  Flip over and do the same on the other side.  Repeat with remaining tortillas.   You can freeze these or store them in an airtight container.

Make sure you check my next post for a yummy filling to add to these, I love chucking things in a bowl and hoping for the best, its a bonus when it actually works out!!!

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Low Fodmap Ranch Dressing / CreamyTuna Salad) (Gluten Free, Lactose Free) |

  2. Pingback: Snack Idea – Homemade Tortilla with Banana, Rice malt syrup & Crushed Almonds (gluten free, lactose free, low fodmap) |

  3. Pingback: Dessert Taco’s – Multiple Flavours (Clean Eating, Low FODMAP, Lactose Free & Gluten Free option) |

Leave a Reply

