Snack Idea – Homemade Tortilla with Banana, Rice malt syrup & Crushed Almonds (gluten free, lactose free, low fodmap)

One thing I struggle with is snacks, but slowly I am getting better finding suitable snacks, as I eat every 2-3 hours, I have very small portions, so its more like a snack I have 2-3 hours as I cant have a main meal.  And I know when I have eaten too much, the pain kicks in soon after and so does the bloating.   For example, 1 palm size home made tortilla with some sort of filling is pretty much a meal, like a heap dessert spoon of my creamy tuna salad or this following snack that I had for breakfast…..this is one of my favourites but not something I have every day, would love it every meal!  I have posted a smiliar snack idea before but heres one that uses my recently added tortillas.

You will need my homemade tortilla recipe https://mycleanplate.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/low-fodmap-tortillas-gluten-free-dairy-free/

1/2 a banana (if using 1 tortilla, I have my tortillas mini size for low portion sizing but you would know what portion size you can tolerate, so you might want to use 1 full banana if you have a larger tortilla.

1/2 tsp nut butter (I use almond, cashew, brazil nut i think the mix is)

1 tsp rice malt syrup (you can use maple syrup but if you arent on a low fodmap diet you can use honey, but rice malt syrup tastes similar and has half the sugar

approx 5 almonds or nut of your choice roughly chopped.

Just spreak the nut butter onto the tortilla, add chopped banana  and drizzle with rice malt syrup then sprinkle with nuts.

You have a great healthy snack with carbs, protien, healthy fats and a little sugar!

 

Leave a Reply

