Lemon Chicken & Rice Soup (Low Fodmap, Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

Tonights dinner is Lemon Chicken & Rice soup.  I do cook alot of chicken meals but have been trying to give other meats ago for a bit of variety in my diet and the kids diet, the kids dont really like steak as they find it very hard to chew so I often use premium grade mince for them or turkey or pork mince when making spaghetti, rissoles, tacos etc.  Its been a while since I have made a soup as many stocks contain things that arent low fodmap friendly.  This soup basically is water and lemon as the stock.  Although I did find it really needed to be seasoned and I ended up adding a few things not in the recipe and loved it much more.  I even loved it more adding a tablespoon of cream to my bowl making it a creamy lemon chicken soup!  Much better,  as I can tolerate small doses of lactose 1 tablespoon is fine for those on a low fodmap diet also unless you are completely lactose free then go for the lactose free cream.  You can also omit the rice if you want a low carb soup and add other vegies in too.   I made half the recipe too as the soup is just for me and I will freeze some for over the weekend or early in the week for meals.   But following if the normal amount.  I should have used garlic infused olive oil to lightly fry the chicken for extra flavour, ah well next time.

Lemon Chicken & Rice Soup

1kg chicken breast or thigh (if using thigh then make sure you trim as much fat as you can)

2 litres water

1 cup rice (if using brown rice see note)

rind of 2 lemons

1/2 cup lemon juice

2 carrots, grated and chopped

1 celery stalk,  chopped

2 Tblsp chopped fresh parsley

1 Tbsp rice bran or olive oil or even garlic infused oil

salt and pepper to taste

 

In a large soup pot add oil and  brown chicken on all sides, add carrot and celery and cook a further couple of minutes.  Add water, lemon zest and juice. Allow to boil and then simmer for 15 minutes then add white rice Add parsley and simmer a further 10-15 minutes, until chicken and rice are cooked through,  season to taste and  Serve immediately.

*NOTE if using brown add this with the water and lemon as it will need longer to cook.

 

My additions:

Brown rice instead of white rice.

freshly chopped chives about 1 tablespoons

1/4  tsp cumin

1/4 tsp smoked paprika

1 Tablespoon of cream (I added this to my bowl at the end) much prefered it with cream.

The soup with no cream:

and with cream:

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

