Golden Quinoa ‘Kingston’ or ‘Anzac’ Biscuits (Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Low Fodmap, egg free)

I’ve got your afternoon tea covered…..my version of a recipe making 2 classic Aussie style biscuits the Kingston Biscuit and the Anzac Biscuit

I was in the mood for an anzac biscuit yesterday arvo so thought I’d play around with some ideas to make one gluten free and low fodmap especially.  Instead of using oats I thought why not try  quinoa flakes since I have a full packet in the pantry.  I did 3 lots all three slightly different, like melting the butter compared to sofened butter and played around with sugar content as I much prefer using as little sugar as possible.  Some recipes I found called for way too much sugar and it really isnt necessary and who wants all those empty wastes calories here you can have a little sugar fix and not feel guilty.  Now I love love love sweets but I now am happy to just have it sweet enough rather than a mass sugar hit, especially since my body cant tolerate too much sugar.     So, what do I do with these masses of kingston style and anzac style cookies I have sitting in my kitchen, well some I have in the freezer, some I took to my parents place and some I dropped off to the kids quickly while they are at their dads for the weekend so everyone could enjoy them for afternoon tea.  The results are in…..they all loved them!  I do too,  I allowed myself 1 kingston style cookie!    I’m gonna share my recipe!

The reason why I turned the golden quinoa cookie into a kingston is because yesterday I made lots of mint slice cupcakes with a chocolate buttercream (My 7yr old daughters request as her fave cookie on the planet is a mint slice) and vanilla cupcakes with chocolate buttercream to take to my daughters friends place as we (thats me and all my 5 kids) were spending the afternoon there,  as I had sooo many kids with me I thought I’d better bring some extra special goodies with me to sweeten the deal for having us all.  My kids were very well behaved (phew lol) and they all loved their cupcakes!  But I made too much buttercream so making these cookies meant I could sandwich 2 between some chocolate buttercream.  But you dont have to make buttercream all you need is dark chocolate (if on a low fodmap diet or lactose free, or use lactose free chocolate – make sure there is no fodmaps in the dairy free chocolate but if you are just gluten free then you can use any chocolate you like milk or dark and for a richer centre add some cream to the chocolate to make a ganache).

Golden Quinoa Biscuits (Kingston or Anzac Biscuits)

Makes about 20-22 single cookies or 10-11 sandwiched together

120 grams dairy free spread, softened (I use nuttelex)

1 cup gluten free plain flour (or brown rice flour which is what I prefer to the refined white flours) but plain is fine.

1/3 cup golden syrup (or you could use maple syrup)

3/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

3/4 cup quinoa flakes

1 Tbsp caster sugar

1 Tbsp dark brown sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

approx 150grams dark chocolate (or chocolate of your choice depending on tolerance)

or make a buttercream ….

BUTTERCREAM (approx measurements)

30 grams dairy free spread (nuttelex)

1 cups gluten free icing sugar

1-2 Tbsp lactose free milk

1-2 Tbsp cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 160 degrees.   Line a baking tray with grease proof paper.  In a mixing bowl beat softened butter, golden syrup and sugars until light and fluffy (either by hand or using a mixer).    Add flour, bi carb soda, coconut and quinoa and beat or mix until just combined.  Take a teaspoon full (cuterly size not measuring spoon size) and roll into a ball and flatten in your hand, gently place on baking tray.  Baking in the oven for about 12 to 15 minutes until nice and golden.  If you want them a little more crispier the longer the better.  Transfer to wire rack to cool.    There you have your anzac style cookie.  Or to make them a kingston style simply melt chocolate and dollop a little in the centre of the back of one cookie and sandwich another on the top carefully.   Or make buttercream (see below) and spread on the back of one cookie then gently press another cookie on top.  And theres your kingston style cookie, only healthier!!!  Store in an airtight container,  they should last about 4-5 days,  I have frozen some too, allow to defrost and you should still get a yummy cookie (cupcakes with buttercream and fine to freeze and defrost fine as does the buttercream so I expect these will be great too).

For Buttercream:

Beat spread in a mixer (or hand held mixer) and slowly add icing sugar and sifted cocoa, if mixture gets stiff just add a tablespoon of lactose free milk,  add one at a time until its the right consistancy to spread.  As its a small amount you may just wanted to mix all by hand than use a mixer, when I made mine I made alot as I had cupcakes,  these measurements are approximate to what i think should be ample to do the cookies.

 

Buttercream Variations:

Mocha

Warm 1 tablespoon of the milk from the ‘butter’ cream recipe above and stir in 1tsp tablespoons instant coffee granules.

Add remaining milk (if needed)

Sift 1 tablespoon cocoa powder and mix into the milk.  Add to the icing sugar mix and beat to combine.

Choc Mint

add 2 tablespoons of cocoa and about 1/4 tsp peppermint essence.

Leave a Reply

