Gluten Free Ginger Spice Bread (Low Fodmap, Lactose Free option)

I have a Breville Breadmaker BBM 100, I bought it about 6 weeks ago specifically to make my own gluten free bread as I was making it by hand and thought it would be just easier (and I hate the taste of bought gluten free bread…yuk).  One of my favourite breads I like to make is a spice bread, originally it had sultanas in it but as I am not a big fan left it out and changed it slightly to suit my tastes.

Gluten Free Ginger Spice Bread

(1kg loaf)

330ml water

3Tbsp olive oil

3 eggs

1/2 cup lactose free milk (or use milk powder if not lactose free and add it with the dry ingredients)

2 cups brown rice flour

1  1/4 cups potato flour

1/2 cup tapioca (arrowroot flour)

2 Tbsp brown sugar (for a sweeter bread original recipe calls for 1/4 cup, I quite liked it less sweet).

1.5 tsp salt

1 Tbsp xanthan gum

2 Tbsp mixed spice

1 Tbsp groung ginger

2 tsp yeast

For me I put all ingredients in the bread maker in that order and put it on setting 7 (gluten free setting) With a D setting for dark crust.

Or  you could mix all ingredients together, allow to rise. Knead and shape into a bread loaf shape or into a loaf tin and bake in the oven time may vary though so maybe 45 minutes at 200 degrees (your loaf should sound hollow when you tap the top).  I make this bread in my bread maker and havent tried it in the oven so can only estimate for you.

If you make them into rolls then time will be quicker maybe 20 minutes.

2 responses

  1. This bread is delicious! I did not add mixed spices, just ginger, but it got a mild taste that suited me. The bread had a really good consistency! So much better than the ones I buy in the store. In the future I think I’m gonna use this as a base, and make different versions of it. Yummy!

    • It’s a yummy bread isn’t it, we love toasting it with some dairy free butter the smell of it toasting is awesome, you can also add a few sultanas to it, if sultanas is your thing (not my cup of tea) or even add nuts to it. I have also done this with ginger and no mixed spice, only as I didn’t have any and kids keen for more bread, they love taking it to school but my 11 yr old daughter loved it toasted with just her dairy free spread.

Leave a Reply

