Roasted Carrot & Ricotta Tart with Maple Glaze (Gluten Free, Low Fodmap*)

I was inspired by this recipe after seeing the latest free Coles magazine while shopping, (for those not in Australia, Coles is one of our biggest supermarket chains).  The image on the cover looked so appealing, its a carrot galatte on the cover but ofcourse its not gluten free so I decided to have a play with the recipe, make it gluten free and put my little spin on it.

*This recipe is low fodmap (I do have recipes in my low fodmap recipe books I have purchased that use things like cream cheese and ricotta cheese)  BUT only for those who have done the elimination stage of the low fodmap diet and have introduced lactose into their diet and can tolerate it as this recipe uses ricotta cheese which contains lactose.  Like for me, I have, under the supervision of a dietitian brought back in small amounts of lactose into my diet.  I can tolerate 1 cup of milk so a little ricotta should be acceptable for me too.  But please assess your own tolerance to lactose before making this.  Sadly this dish my daughter cant eat, not that she is complaining….she hates carrots lol.

The original recipe uses puff pastry, while this would be yummy, the gluten free puff pastry in the frozen section contained dextrose monohydrate and I wasnt 100% sure what this was or if this was suitable on the low fodmap diet as its a monosaccharide (type of sugar – glucose, fructose and galactose).  I tried to google some info on my iphone about this in the shops and when I saw the sugar thing mentioned and fructose I decided that I wouldnt buy it as I wasnt sure if it would affect me at all so decided I would either make my own gluten free  puff pastry or just make a short crust pastry (much much easier to make) so I decided to make this into a tart using short crust pastry.  When I have a little more time to play around with my gluten free puff pastry recipe then I will redo a puff pastry version.

There will be a little pastry left over, why not freeze it for later or make some sausage rolls or a mini quiches with the left overs.  I am really really pleased with how my version turned out,  a slight hint of lemon and those carrots with a little maple syrup….YUM!

Here is my creation….

Roasted Carrot & Ricotta Tart with Maple Syrup Glaze

Pastry:

1 1/4 cup Brown Rice Flour

1/2 cup cornflour (starch) or tapioca/arrowroot starch

1/4 cup Amaranth flour (or millet flour is ok too)

1 tsp xanthan gum

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg, cold

170 grams chilled butter chopped

1 Tbsp chilled water (if needed)

Lightly spray a flan/tart tin with olive oil spray.  In a food processer add all dry ingredients and pulse to combine.  Then add butter and mix until mixture resembles breadcrumbs.  Add egg and mix.  At this stage it may form a dough and come away from the sides if so stop mixing if dough is too dry then add a tablespoon of chilled water but you may not need it.  Turn out on a floured surface and shape into a ball, cover with glad wrap and chill to make it easier to work with.  I find though using a cold egg with the chilled butter I can sometimes get away with using it straight away. (while chilling go onto the main part of the ingredients). Once chilled roll out to desired tart thickness between 2 sheets of grease proof paper (lightly floured with brown rice flour).  Carefully pick up your dough still on the paper and flip over onto the pie dish carefully pressing the edges into place and neaten up the edge of the pie.  Pick a couple of times with a fork in the centre of the pastry. Place in freezer  until needed (about 20 minutes) this helps when spreading cheese mixture over the pastry.

Filling:

500 grams low fat ricotta cheese

approx 6-8 small dutch carrots

1 Tbsp lemon zest

2 Tbsp oregano (fresh finely chopped, or dried)

salt and pepper to taste

Glaze:

1 Tbsp maple syrup

Preheat oven to 180 degrees.  Line a baking tray with grease proof paper.  Scrub carrots clean and cut off most of the green tops leaving just a little (just looks fancy).  Cut in half and place on baking tray.  Cook for about 15 minutes then remove from oven.  Meanwhile in a bowl mix ricotta cheese, lemon zest, oregano and salt and pepper.  Take your tart pastry out the freezer and spread the cheese mixture over the top. Nicely spread your carrots around the top cut sides up.  Using a brush (or your clean finger if you dont have a brush) spread each carrot with maple syrup.  Then place back into the oven for a further 20 to 25 minutes until pastry starting to colour.

If using a 2 part flan dish (which is what I have) then allow to cool a few minutes before attempting to move the side bit off as the pastry is delicate.  Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

