Chocolate Chai Latte (Low Fodmap, Gluten Free, Lactose Free)

One thing I have been hooked ever since my bestie Michelle introduced it to me are Chai Lattes, oh boy are they yummy.  And the best chai latte on the planet is a tiny little cafe in Hahndorf called  Cafe Assiette, 72 Main Street  Hahndorf SA 5245.  As you can see they claim to have the best coffee in town, well I’m not too sure about that as I havent tried their coffee but if their chai lattes are anything to go by then they probably do have the best coffee.  My girls love chai lattes too and Michelle and I took our kids there to show them how awesome their chai lattes really are.

(image source: google)

I would always by the Arkadia Vanilla or Spice chai from Coles when shopping as I found they had THE best flavour for an at home chai but it contains corn syrup (a FODMAP) and not suitable on the low fodmap diet. So its been a long 2 months without my daily special treat.

Natalie’s Chocolate Chai Latte

3 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp all spice (or mixed spice)

1/4 tsp ground cloves

dash nutmeg

in a small container add all ingredients, put the lid on and shake to combine. Now for the drink….

1 cup almond milk (or lactose free milk)

1-2 tsp cocoa powder

1/4 tsp chai spice mix

sugar (optional)

Heat your milk up in the microwave or stove top, add cocoa and spice and stir until all mixed in.  Perfect for these freezing cold winter days!

Leave a Reply

