Almond Meal Bread/Muffins (Gluten Free, Low Fodmap, Lactose Free, Clean Eating, Low Carb)

I love bread, anyway it comes.  But being on the low fodmap diet puts me on the yukky gluten free bread,  but since I have been making my own I have been enjoying going gluten free much more.  But sometimes I want to feel like I am eating all those carbs but I’m not really…..so its hello almond meal!!  So I went searching for some ideas and here’s a low fodmap bread with yummy flavour, healthy fats from almonds and coconut oil what more could you want. with added fibre from flaxmeal too.    Now this bread  has a great flavour and is sort of more like a savoury treat but you can make this more sweet if you want adding more rice syrup or rice malt syrup but really  I dont think it needs anymore sweetness, its prefect!  I love topping mine with roasted almonds and then thismorning I toasted it, spread a little peanut butter on it and topped it with a few thin slices of banana.  But would have been perfect toasted with a tiny bit of dairy free spread (Nuttelex) or butter if not lactose intolerant!   I made 2 batches, bread and muffins both were great.  But I do prefer my bread a bit higher so will make this again later in the week doubling the recipe and increasing the cooking time.    I picked up a cute bendy muffin tray which is little houses, kids love it!

Almond Meal Bread (or Muffins)

1  1/4 cup almond meal

1/4 cup coconut flour (if you dont have this just use 1.5 cups of almond meal)

1/2 cup flaxmeal (I use Melrose brand)

1/2 tsp salt

1.5 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup coconut oil

4 eggs (I made this with 3 eggs too and it was ok,  both were much for much but I think by a whisker  I preferred the 4 eggs)

2 tsp rice malt syrup/rice syrup (or you can use maple syrup)

1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional, better for muffins)

1 tsp vanilla ( optional if making muffins)

1/4 cup roughly chopped almonds (either use in the bread or ontop before baking) optional

 

Preheat the oven to 170 degrees (fan forced) . Grease and line a loaf tin or muffin tin.   In a bowl combine dry ingredients.  In another bowl using a mixer (or use a food processor) add the coconut oil, syrup, eggs and mix until combined.  Add the dry ingredients and mix well. If adding nuts add this after you have mixed the batter (especially if using the food processor).  Pour in to your prepared tray and top with nuts if you wanted.  For the loaf bake in the oven for about 28-30 minutes.  I made larger muffins so they took about same, but for smaller muffins check it after 20 minutes.  Allow to cool slightly before removing from the pans.  Can be frozen.  Tastes great served warm with butter!!!

 

5 responses

  1. Looks yum, Nat. I am going to try these on the weekend. Can u please tell me the substitute for coconut oil, as I don’t have any?

Leave a Reply

