Chicken & Walnut Sausage Rolls (Gluten Free, Low Fodmap, Dairy Free, Egg Free)

Since I can’t eat beef now for a while I thought I’d think outside the box and create a new favourite sausage roll, as I seem to be loving sausage rolls at the moment.  I thought as I love chicken why not a chicken sausage roll.  I have to keep salt to a minimum so left out the feta cheese in this one but enjoy having nuts, almonds or pinenuts etc in a meal.  I also played around with making a new pastry for some flavour differences, I used quinoa but since it affected me I will be replacing it.  I really am pleased with this creation, both the pastry and the meat are delish!!!   What gives the pastry extra flavour is using hazelnut meal, I love the pastry!!!!  You can subsitute for another flour or 2 or 3 in the cup if you prefer.    I love it when a recipe turns out amazing.  For my other pastry go here https://mycleanplate.wordpress.com/2012/07/22/low-fodmap-sausage-rolls-gluten-free-wheat-free-lactose-free/

Chicken & Walnut Sausage Rolls

Pastry:

1  cup quinoa flour (can swap this for either more brown or hazenlut meal or  rice flour, buckwheat which has a similar nutty flavour or amaranth or even millet flours)

1/2 cup hazelnut meal (or almond meal)

1/2 cup brown rice flour

5 Tbsp dairy free spread, chilled (leave in freezer a bit to harden a little more) or use butter if not lactose intolerant – I forgot to weigh, I was just guessing each tablespoon amount.  Doesnt matter as if its more you will just use less water at the end

1/2 tsp sea salt (I use himilayan sea salt but i know not many will have that so any salt is ok)

1 Tbsp flaxmeal

1/2 tsp xanthan gum (optional)

approx 1/2 cup chilled water (use more if needed)

Preheat oven to 180 degrees and line baking trays with grease proof paper.  In a food processor combine dry ingredients  and pulse to combine.  Add chilled butter and mix until fine breadcrumbs are formed.  Slowly add chilled water until a dough forms and it comes away from the sides in a ball.  Wrap and freeze for a little bit to make it easier to work with.

Filling:

500grams chicken mince

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1 carrot, finely grated

2 Tbsp fresh chopped chives

2 fresh basil leaves finely chopped

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp sweet paprika

1 tsp italian herb mix (dry mix from masterfoods)

pinch salt

pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients thoroughly and set aside while you prepare the dough.

Pastry:  I cut my dough in half and work in 2 lots.  Form into a log shape on a grease proof paper that is lightly floured with brown rice flour, making it into a log shape now   makes it easier to get a rectangle shape when rolling.  Roll into a rectangle and spoon chicken mixture along the centre.  Take the top part of the grease proof paper and gently lift and pull it towards you as it will then fold the pastry over the top part of the chicken mixture and slowly pull the paper away from the pastry,  this is so much easier and less chace of it sticking!  Use a little milk, or lactose free milk along the bottom edge to help act as the glue.  Carefully roll the sausage roll over to join the ends which should now be at the bottom of the sausage roll.  Cut carefully into desired pieces and place on a baking tray using extra milk brush a little milk over each sausage roll and bake in the oven for 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

