Quinoa, Almond & Blueberry Pancakes (Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Low Fodmap, Egg Free)

It was recommended that I start baking with quinoa over brown rice flour by my naturopath.  So yesterday I went out and got a couple of packets at $10 each….yikes! I was trying to think of some quick things I can whip up as I hadnt researched recipe ideas that were eggless and wasnt feeling unsure of what to make to eat.  So I thought I’d make some pancakes, flat bread and pastry for a new idea of sausage roll I visioned lol  So thats what I did today, baked baked baked with quinoa, first time I have used the flour.  I have had quinoa but in small doses in tabbouleh but only a tiny bit.   Sadly all day I have been hit full on with IBS symtpoms, instant bloating after breakfast, I didnt click to quinoa so kept baking and ate it for lunch and dinner and i thought its rediculous how bad I am feeling, looking and its made me very regular today!!    So good ol’ google and I was stunned to find the amount of people who suffered the same thing from quinoa.  For some I guess its fine but I’m one that it affects and majorly, mind you I have had it at every meal.   These recipes with quinoa if it suits you then go for it otherwise subsitute it for amaranth, brown rice flour or sorghum flour,  I have amaranth flour on order which should arrive in the week then i will be making it without quinoa and using amaranth instead.  But here is my creative attempt at breakfast with quinoa flour, a very yummy attempt mind you.  I enjoyed them so much I had some left overs for morning tea!

Quinoa, Almond & Blueberry Pancakes

1/2 cup quinoa flour (or use buckwheat for a similar nutty flavoured flour)

1/2 Almond meal

1 Tbsp Chia

1 Tbsp Flaxmeal

1 tsp egg replacer (or you can use an egg if you can tolerate it and omit the water mentioned below)

2 tsp water

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla essence (optional, sadly I can have vanilla at the moment but I would have added it)

pinch himilayan salt

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp xanthan gum

1 cup almond milk

1/4 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

1/4 cup chopped almonds

1 Tbsp rice malt syrup

Rice Malt Syrup (extra to serve)

In a bowl combine quinoa flour and almond meal, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, xanthan gum and mix well to combine.  In a small bowl or cup mix egg replacer and water until well combined.  Add egg replacer mix, 1 tablespoon of  rice malt syrup and the water to the dry mix and mix thoroughly.  Add Blueberries and mix, if you prefer a runnier mix just add more milk.  In a frying pan melt some dairy free spread like nuttelex  (or use coconut oil spray)  and add spoonfuls of batter cook until golder and flip and repeat on the other side.  Serve warm with a trickle of rice malt syrup topped with chopped almonds.

Leave a Reply

