Almond Crackers (Gluten Free, Dairy Free, Egg Free, Grain Free, Low Fodmap, Clean Eating)

Well I’ve been a little stumped with what to have for snacks with the stricter diet I am on (now being grain free and egg free, dairy free as well as low fodmap, gluten and wheat free),  I cannot overload on fruit and vegetables due to IBS triggers and since I love my carbs I thought I’d attempt another cracker style recipe thats low carb and the fats in these crackers are a healthy fat.  I loved these,  I really am impressed with the flavour and an opportunity for to use one of my new spices I bought, sweet paprika.  I have smoked and normal paprika which I love to use and now I really  love the sweet paprika!

 

Almond Crackers

1 cup almond meal

2 Tbsp cold water

2 tsp coconut oil

pinch himilayan salt (this is much better for you! )

1/4 tsp sweet paprika

1 Tbsp pumpkin seeds

 

Preheat oven to 160 degrees (fanforced).  In a food processor combine all ingredients apart from the pumpkin seeds.  Mix until combined.  Then add pumpkin seeds and hit the pulse button a few times to mix them into the mixture and chop them up slightly.   Tip out onto grease proof paper and roll out using another piece of grease proof paper ontop.  Try to roll into a rectangle shape until a thin cracker thickness.  Or you can trim it to a rectangle and reuse the off cuts to roll out more on another tray. (The thinner the crispier the cracker will be).  Using a pizza cutter cut long strips one way then again the other way to create lots of squares.  Do not attempt to take them off the paper, carefully lift the paper with the crackers on it onto a baking tray and bake in the oven for about 12-15 minutes until golden and crispy (you may need to turn the tray around half way depending on your oven).  Allow to cool slightly before snapping the squares up.

Leave a Reply

