Coconut Chicken Strips with Avocado Mash (Low Fodmap, Gluten Free, Dairy Free*)

I love thinking of different meals for myself, something quick for one when the kids want something I cant have for dinner, tonights dinner was soooo good!!!!  A little while ago I posted a recipe about coconut chicken nuggets that were a huge hit with the kids and the flavour was amazingly good.  Tonight I couldnt be bothered getting the food processor to make the shredded coconut finer and glad I chose to do it that way, i loved using the shredded coconut as in the fry pan it toasted and bits fell off and those bits were awesome and crispy!!   So I used chicken strips (stiry fry chicken strips as they cook quicker) and since I have discovered I can tolerate a little avocado I bought some today shopping (YAY!) and was keen to have some with dinner.  I made this meal just for me but its pretty simple to work out what you will need if you are using more than 4 piddly pieces of chicken strips (I can only have small meals hence only the small amount of chicken).  I was absolutely blown away with this meal.  I definately and making this for the kids as I am sure they will enjoy the avocado.   Cant wait to have this again tomorrow!!   Absolutely loved this meal!!

*Avocado is fine on a low fodmap diet but only 1/4 of a cup at one meal.  I had 1/2 a cup the other day with no symptoms so please asses your own intolerances.

Heres approx measurements for 4 people.

Coconut Chicken Strips with Avocado Mash

serves 4 to 6

1 packet of chicken strips (about 500 grams)

1/4 tsp himilayan salt (or sea salt)

1 cup shredded coconut (use more if you think it needs more to coat the chicken)

1 avocado

1/4 tsp himilayan salt (or sea salt) for avocado mash

4 slices of brie cheese (omit if lactose/dairy free)

handful of baby spinach leaves

Dairy free spread for cooking or butter

In a large bowl add the coconut and 1/4 tsp salt and toss to combine, add the chicken and mix around until chicken is evenly coated (add more coconut if needed to coat better).  Heat a frying pan and add 2-3 tablespoons of butter/dairy free spread (this helps toast the coconut and makes it golden) add the chicken and let brown on one side and turn over to brown the other side.  Meanwhile mash the avocado with 1/4 tsp salt just before chicken is ready.  Lay a few spinach leaves on each serving plate and add and a heaped dessertsoonful of the avocodo mash ontop.  Lay a slice of brie cheese over the top of the mash and layer chicken around the plate.  Sprinkle any spare toasted bits fallen off into the pan over the plate (yummy!).  Serve immediately and enjoy.

2 responses

  1. Yum! Thanks for sharing! I sometimes do a variation with coconut flour..don’t know why I never thought to do shredded coconut! Instead of butter I cook mine in coconut oil – gives a nice coconuty taste and from what I’ve read is better for you with butter (but I just loveee coconut hehe) 🙂

    • Ooh I love coconut oil and use it most of the time with baking. I haven’t tried frying it with coconut oil, usually I have used olive oil spray butit dries it out so opted for dairy free spread (my daughter is lactose intolerant) but if it doesn’t dry out and gives the golden colour I will try it ( although I do like he taste of the dairy free spread. Coconut ol is amazing, you should look at the coconut oil chocs I make amazing and super good for you too! I too started using coconut flour then would whiz shredded coconut in the food processor to resemble bread crumbs but tonight I got slack and it was so much better.

Leave a Reply

