Cumin & Chia Crackers (Gluten Free, Low Fodmap, Dairy Free, Vegan, Grain Free option)

Another recipe with my creative mind!  And surprisingly these turned out really yummy.  I really enjoy cooking with cumin, its such a nice flavour and wondered how this would go in a cracker and to make it even better for you I  added black and white chia seeds.  The result was awesome, I was most impressed.  Why not try it for yourself I think you will enjoy it as much as I did!   Packed full of healthy fats and omega fatty acids and if the kids love the flavour why not pack some for school with some cheese slices).  These would be amazing with dip too!!

I bought so much sorgham flour before being told its best to avoid grain, well I havent noticed any change to my symptoms of IBS so decided to cook with it and get my moneys worth.  I am starting to question my hair analysis test as since starting to follow the diet change i have been so much worse!!!  Whats with that!!!  So back to just the low fodmap diet! Anyway heres my yummy cracker recipe…

Cumin & Chia Crackers

Makes 20 plus

1 cup sorgham flour (or your fave  GF flour, use amaranth for grain free option)

3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted

1/4 tsp himilayan salt (or sea salt)

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 Tbsp dried italian herb mix (I use masterfoods)

2 Tbsp Chia seeds

1/2 cup cold water (may need up to 3/4 cup)

Preheat oven to 200 degrees.  In a food processor combine all ingredients except water.  Add water a little at a time until mixture forms a dough and comes away from the sides of the food processor, make sure it does this otherwise you will have a too crumby mixture.    Lay a sheet of grease proof paper on your work bench and lightly flour it with the same flour you used in the recipe.  Roll out into an approximate shape of a rectangle until its about 1/4 of a centimetre or so thick. Carefully, using a pizza cutter cut into strips one way and again the other way to make bite size squares but do not remove.  Carefully lift the entire sheet with the dough still on it onto a baking tray and bake in the oven for about 15 minutes or until the crackers start to crispen up.   Allow to cool slightly then break up.  Store in an airtight container for a week or you can freeze.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

