Gluten Free Yorkshire Puddings (Low Fodmap, Dairy Free)

Today I made a roast for the kids and I, somthing I dont make often and I dont know why as they are so yummy.  Every Sunday my grandparents (they are English) would have a roast and we’d go visit often to enjoy Nana’s roast and she always made jelly, fluff and ice cream for dessert (Fluff is basically half set jelly and evaporated milk that has been beaten and it triples in volume and is well fluffy!)  My absolutely favourite part of my Nana’s roast was her yorkshire puddings.  And since I am gluten free I thought I’d see how a gluten free version would turn out.  To my surprise they were absolutely amazing.  Kids always love them too.   This recipe is adapted from food.com  and definately one I’ll be making again.

(I made these with plain flour and baking powder as I didnt have self raising flour).

Gluten Free Yorkshire Puddings

115 g gluten-free self-raising flour

140 ml almond milk (or milk of choice)

140 ml water

1/4 tsp sea salt

1 egg

4-5 Tbsp rice bran oil

Heat the oven to 220°C.  In a mixing bowl place wet ingredients and beat to combine.  Then add dry ingredients and beat well (use electric mixer, the trick is to get lots of air into it).   In a 12 hole muffin tin pour a little oil in each one maybe a teaspoonful.   Place the tray with the oil in the oven until super hot then take out and carefully pour batter into each hole over the oil until almost full.  Place back in the oven for about 20-25 minutes until golden.   Or you could bake this as one big one for 45 minutes.  Serve immediately with your roast meal or serve it with golden syrup and cream….yummo.

 

Leave a Reply

