Mini Chocolate Mousse Pie with Caramel Shards (Clean Eating, Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

Yes thats right you read the above correctly Chocolate Mousse Pie with Caramel Shards……..and its 100% clean!!!!   This is absolutely delicious and so easy,  the only pain in the butt part are the shards but you can omit them, I was just wanting to test myself and see if it will work.  I usually make my desserts mini as most times its just me that likes them and if I do love them I wont go overboard lol.  But this is another pie that my kids loved and I didnt tell them the main ingredient was infact………AVOCADO!!!!   I was sitting impatiently waiting for my kids to finish their little piece so I can yell out ‘you just ate avocado….surprise!’   lol   My 13year old said ‘Really!?! But it taste so nice’  lol

Basically its the same pie crust as the lemon cheesecake,  its my go to base for pies and tarts that are sweet.

Another recipe I’m pretty impressed by lol  getting a bit gamer in the kitchen with those clean eating caramel shards…..all refined sugar free too!!

miniavocadochocolatemoussetart

Mini Chocolate Mousse Pie With Caramel Shards

serves 2

CRUST:

1/2 cup of raw nuts (cashews/Almonds I used)

2 Tbspn unsweetened shredded coconut

5 pitted dates

1 Tbsp water

Blitz everything in the food processor except water, check to see how sticky your crust ‘dough’ is, if you need it to bind more and stick together add a little water. If you add too much then just add almond meal or coconut flour. Press into greased mini springform pan and place in freezer

FILLING:

1 small avocado (or about half a large one)

2 Tbsp pure cocoa

2 Tbsp rice malt syrup

1/2 tsp vanilla

pinch salt

Using a stick mixer blits all ingredients together until smooth.  Pour over base and freeze for 4 hours or so.

CARAMEL SHARDS:

1/4 cup rice malt syrup

1 tsp butter (or dairy free spread, but this amount of butter should be fine for those lactose intolerant like my daughter) or use water instead.

In a small saucepan bring butter and syrup to the boil stiring.  Then stop stiring and let it boil watching it carefully, after 30 seconds give it a quick  stir to check its progress, it will start to get thicker.  After about 2 minutes (watching so carefully so it doesnt burn) it should be ready to take off the heat let stand for a minute to thicken a little more.  Then over a piece of grease proof paper spoon some mixture up and gently let it drizzle from a distance above the paper going back and fourth.  Put in fridge to cool and set.

When pie is ready break up shards and place on the middle of the pie.  I did find that as it was warm in the house it started to bend over a little but it didnt look too bad and added to the effect a little.

miniavocadochocolatemoussetart2

miniavocadochocolatemoussetart1

Leave a Reply

