Mini Caramel Tart (Clean Eating, Vegan, Paleo, Gluten Free, Dairy Free)

One of my most favourite sweet treats is caramel slice/tarts, yummy biscuit base with sweet smooth caramel and a chocolate topping. After being inspired by a couple of images on Instagram lately I decided that I’d experiment myself and play around and see how I would go doing one the my clean plate way. I found that I had my biscuit base too thick so have adjusted the recipe now accordingly to omit a tiny bit of the coconut flour to help make it a little thinner! This is so sweet and its amazing how eating clean/vegan/paleo you can make your caramel flavour using dates and basically making a paste!!! I just made this for the kids and I for dessert and WOW!! So sweet, you only need a little piece but the kids were absolutely impressed. I didnt tell them it was one of my healthy recipes, I just said we have caramel slice for dessert. I cut this into 8 pieces as its quite sweet a little goes along way. And ofcourse I have to make it into a cute little tart!! But you can use this in a small square dish for a slice. I used a mini spring form pan.

You know the most amazing part…..IT’S GUILT FREE!!  Full of fibre,  protein, healthy fats….isnt that enough to put a smile on your face!!  Your taste buds will be thanking you too!!

So here is my version of a mini caramel tart. (I did use 2 Tbsp of coconut flour but have omitted one Tbsp to make the base thinner)

 carameltart1

Mini Caramel Tart

Serves 8

Base:
1 Tbsp coconut flour
1 T almond meal
1 tsp coconut oil, melted
1 tsp honey
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix together (add a tiny bit of water if needed to make a dough, can be a little crumbly but still quite wet to stick together) and press into mini spring form pan or small square oven proof dish thats lined with baking paper. Bake in a preheated oven for 10 minutes on 160 degrees C fan forced. Let cool slightly. Tip: wet fingers or back of a spoon to press into dish.

Caramel:
3/4 cup dried pitted dates
1 Tbsp coconut oil
2 Tbsp Almond butter
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
optional 1 Tbsp honey or rice malt syrup

Put all caramel ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth, this should be a thick paste like you could spread it on toast. Dates are pretty sweet so you probably wont need the honey in this at all, have a taste test and see what you think but be careful as you might not want to stop at one little taste test!! If too runny add a little almond meal or if too thick add a little more coconut oil. Grease the edges of the pan with coconut oil so the caramel layer comes away nicely. Once you have the right consistancy and its nice and smooth press over tart coconut base. Wet the back of the spoon this will stop it from sticking and let you smooth the layer out perfectly.

Chocolate Layer:

Now you can either just use some dark chocolate over the top, which is quicker option or make your own chocolate topping, it will be Paleo then too.

1.5 Tbsp Almond butter
2 tsp coconut oil
1 tsp honey or rice malt syrup

Blend in a small bowl making sure your coconut oil isnt lumpy and all blended well. Pour and spread evenly over the top and place in the freezer for an hour or so. If you can wait that long!

carameltart

carameltart2

Leave a Reply

