Chocolate ‘Sweet Potato’ Brownies (Clean Eating, Gluten Free. Lactose Free, Lunchbox Friendly )

I love sweet potato, especially when it’s mashed with cinnamon and topped with almond butter!  mmmmmmmm  So why not make sweets with sweet potato!  It totally makes sense!  Today I thought while all kids are at school and Sabrinah is at kindy and its my forced day off from the gym (I am at the gym on Sunday which is my usual day off so swapped days around) why not spend the day cooking….oh and housework too!  I hate taking a day off from the gym but my body is pretty sore, my muscles are telling me to chill out for the day!  Omit nuts to make this lunchbox friendly for school.

brownie1

I decided to make brownies,  hoping that they would turn out nice and moist and bingo…..spot on!!  Here’s what I did

Chocolate ‘Sweet Potato’ Brownies

3/4 cup mashed roasted sweet potato
1/2 mashed large  banana (or 1 small mashed banana)
3 eggs
1/3 cup rice malt syrup or honey
2 Tbsp melted dark chocolate
3 Tbsp pure cocoa powder
3 Tbsp coconut flour
1/3 cup chopped macadamia nuts (or nut of your choice or omit nuts)
2 Tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla essence
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch of sea salt

Preheat oven to 180 degrees C (fan forced).  In a food processor blend all ingredients (except nuts) until smooth.  Stir in nuts and  Pour into a 8×8 inch baking dish thats line with grease proof paper.  Spread evenly.  Bake for 20 minutes in the oven.  Allow to cool a little in the dish before trying to lift out.  I cooled mine in the fridge as I was impatient.

Serve if you like with a yummy choc frosting.  1/2 cup almond butter, half cup chobani plain greek yoghurt or quark german style low fat cottage cheese,  1-2 Tbsp pure cocoa, 2 Tbsp rice malt syrup or honey.  Mix until combined and spread evenly over brownie!!  Add some raspberries too!

brownie

Leave a Reply

